#### THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF EXETER CITY COUNCIL

Guildhall Thursday 4 June 2015

The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor (Cllr Foggin)
The Deputy Lord Mayor (Cllr Robson)
Councillors Baldwin, Bialyk, Bowkett, Brimble, Brock, Bull, Buswell, Choules, Crew, Denham, Edwards, George, Hannaford, Hannan, Harvey, Henson, Holland, Laws, Leadbetter, Morris, Morse, Newby, Owen, Packham, Pearson, Raybould, Sheldon, Spackman, Sutton, Vizard, Wardle and Williams

5 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Branston, Donovan, Lyons and Prowse.

## 6 <u>TO REVIEW THE EXETER "CONVENTIONS"</u>

Minutes of Special Executive held 3 June 2015 were taken as read.

The Leader, seconded by Councillor Sutton, moved the recommendation.

The Leader of the Opposition commented that there had been an excellent debate at last night's Executive and re-iterated his group's opposition to the recommendation.

A Member stated that he had attended the interesting Executive meeting last night and listened to the opposition group speak with passion and insight. He fully supported the Leader and, in fact, it was his Group's backbenchers that had asked the Leader if the Exeter Convention could be changed. He believed the proposal was the right way forward for the Council and that the ruling group could and would scrutinise the Executive effectively. He referred to the South West Charter Plus which highlighted the operation of scrutiny, acknowledging the contribution of all Members sitting on those committees. The Centre for Public Scrutiny's view was that Scrutiny Councillors should not act in a party political manner. He believed that scrutiny worked best if Members of all political parties came together to provide a 'critical friend', the key roles being to evaluate, monitor, consider, advise and review. He felt, however, that the mechanism regarding call-in based around one third of scrutiny committee membership did need some further thought.

**RESOLVED** that the Minutes of the Special Executive held on 3 June 2015 (as below) be received and adopted:-

- (1) Delete (6) from The Exeter "Conventions";
- (2) Amend Scrutiny Procedure Rules 6.1 to read Chairs of scrutiny committees will be drawn from amongst the councillors sitting on the committee:
- (3) Amend the Constitution accordingly; and

(4) That the Corporate Manager Democratic and Civic Support and the Democratic Services Manager (Committees) review the Council's Constitution and Standing Orders to ensure it is fit for purpose. The results of the review to be reported to a Working Group made up of all political parties on the Council and to be implemented from Annual Council 2016.

In accordance with Standing Order 27(1), a named vote on the recommendation was called for, as follows:

Voting for:

Councillors Bialyk, Bowkett, Brimble, Bull, Buswell, Choules, Crew, Denham, Edwards, George, Hannaford, Hannan, Laws, Morris, Morse, Owen, Packham, Pearson, Raybould, The Deputy Lord Mayor, Sheldon, Spackman, Sutton, Vizard, Wardle and Williams.

(26 Members)

Voting against:

Councillors Baldwin, Brock, Harvey, Henson, Holland, Leadbetter and Newby.

(7 Members)

Abstain:

The Lord Mayor.

(1 Members)

Councillors Branston, Donovan, Lyons, Mottram, Prowse and Shiel.

(6 Members)

Absent:

### 7 TO APPOINT SCRUTINY COMMITTEE CHAIRS AND DEPUTY CHAIRS

**RESOLVED** that the following be agreed:-

### **Scrutiny Committee – Community**

Chair - Councillor Morse

Deputy Chair - Councillor George

#### **Scrutiny Committee – Economy**

Chair - Councillor Brimble

Deputy Chair – Councillor Lyons

# **Scrutiny Committee – Resources**

Chair - Councillor Bull

Deputy Chair - Councillor Buswell

(The meeting commenced at 6.00 pm and closed at 6.15 pm)

Chair